ᐱᒃᑯᓇᓪᓚᕆᑦᑐᐊᓗᒻᒥᒃ ᖁᕕᐊᓲᑎᖃᖅᑐᒍᑦ!
What an incredible celebration!

ᑲᑎᓕᕐᒥᔪᒍᑦ! Together again! The 11th Annual Arctic Inspiration Prize Awards Ceremony brought the AIP community together in person in celebration of the 2022 Finalists and Laureates on February 8, 2023 at an event held in partnership with the Northern Lights Business and Cultural Showcase. And while the celebration is done for another year, the Laureates are just getting started and there will certainly be more to hear from them!

Left photo: David Serkoak opens the 11th Annual Arctic Inspiration Prize Awards Ceremony (Justin Tang/AIP); Right photo: Hosts Andrea Brazeau and Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory.

Seven incredible teams from across the North were awarded a share of over $2.7 million to bring their by the North, for the North projects to life. Learn more about these Laureates’ projects here.

Left photo: 2022 $1 Million Laureate “Pilimmaksaijuliriniq Project”; Top-right photo: 2022 AIP Laureates Shäwthän Näzhì: Recovery Support Program, Atanniuvik and Lessons from our Elders; Bottom-right photo: 2022 Youth Laureates N’’tsaÜw Chu’ Kedts’edán Kù Traditional Camp, Northern Games Youth Collaboration “Inuvialuit Piuyausiq” and Northern Youth Creative Collective. (Justin Tang/AIP)

“As Co-Owners, we have invested in the AIP, the Laureates, and our communities. We are proud to be AIP’s ownership, its leadership and its future.”

Andy Moorhouse, Vice-President, Makivvik Corporation, former AIP Laureate, and member of the AIP Trust representing Nunavik and Nunavik’s Co-Owners.
Top left photo: Andy Moorhouse, VP, Makivvik Corporation (former AIP Laureate &AIP Trustee representing Nunavik and Nunavik’s Co-Owners) speaking about Co-Owners at the awards ceremony; Bottom-left photo: Aluki Kotierk, President, Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (AIP Co-Owner and Ambassador/Nominator) and Reanna Johnston, Chief Operating Officer, Atuqtuarvik Corporation (AIP Co-Owner & AIP Trustee representing Nunavut and Nunavut’s Co-Owners) presenting the $1 Million AIP Laureates with their award; Right photo: Natan Obed, President, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (Honourary Patron and Settlor of the AIP Trust) announcing the $1 Million Laureate. (Justin Tang/AIP)

On behalf of the AIP’s Co-Owners and the entire AIP community, thank you to all the speakers, presenters, dignitaries, performers, hosts and artists who made this awards ceremony so special, including:

  • Natan Obed, President, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (Honourary Patron and Settlor of the AIP Trust)
  • Aluki Kotierk, President, Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (AIP Co-Owner and Ambassador/Nominator)
  • Harry Flaherty, President, Qikiqtaaluk Corporation (AIP Co-Owner and Selection Committee member)
  • Pita Aatami, President, Makivik Corporation (AIP Co-Owner and Ambassador/Nominator)
  • Hilda Snowball, Chairperson, Kativik Regional Government (AIP Co-Owner, Laureate, and Ambassador/Nominator)
  • Grand Chief Ken Kyikavichik, ​Gwich’in Tribal Council (AIP Co-Owner)
  • Jasper Lamouelle, Chief Executive Officer, First Kaska (AIP Co-Owner)
  • Wally Schumann, Chair of the AIP Board of Trustees (Trustee representing the NWT & NWT’s Co-Owners on the AIP Board of Trustees)
  • Reanna Johnston, Chief Operating Officer, Atuqtuarvik Corporation (AIP Co-Owner and Trustee representing Nunavut & Nunavut’s Co Owners on the AIP Board of Trustees)
  • Andy Moorhouse, Vice-President, Makivik Corporation (AIP Co-Owner, Laureate, and Trustee representing Nunavik & Nunavik’s Co-Owners on the AIP Board of Trustees)
  • The Honourable Dan Vandal, Minister of Northern Affairs (Operational Partner)
  • The Honourable P.J. Akeeagok, Premier of Nunavut (Prize Partner)
  • The Honourable Ranj Pillai, Premier of Yukon (Prize Partner and Ambassador/Nominator)
  • The Honourable Angelique Bernard, Commissioner of Yukon (Honorary Patron)
  • His Worship Erwin Elias, Mayor of Tuktoyaktuk (Ambassador/Nominator)
  • Her Worship Laura Cabott, Mayor of Whitehorse (Prize Partner and Ambassador/Nominator)
Leela Gilday, AIP Artistic Director, addressing the audience at the awards ceremony. Hosts Andrea Brazeau and Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory are standing on stage beside her. (Justin Tang/AIP)

Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory and Andrea Brazeau were engaging hosts, and under the masterful artistic direction of NWT’s Juno award winner Leela Gilday, Terry Uyarak, Beatrice Deer, and Vision Quest dazzled the packed house with performances that exuded Northern excellence and had everyone enthralled.

Left photo: Beatrice Deer; Middle photo: Terry Uyarak; Right photo: Vision Quest (Justin Tang/AIP)

“The projects and the Laureates of the AIP have always celebrated community relationships and activities, and have always acknowledged the powerful connection of northerners to the land and water. This year the theme of the AIP musical presentations [celebrated] walking lightly on the earth and leaving our mark on each other.”

Leela Gilday, celebrated musician, songwriter, singer, guitarist, composer, creator and AIP Artistic Director

The Laureates received beautiful pieces of art from northern artists who are all connected to the AIP:

Top row, left to right: Beaded moose hide by Denise McDonald (2018 AIP Laureate), Replica tools by Unaaq Men’s Association of Inukjuak (2017 AIP Laureate), Shäwthän Näzhì by Jessica Winers (AIP Region Manager for Nunatsiavut), Untitled by Michael Fatt (2020 AIP Laureate)
Bottom row, left to right: Crow Clan by Dennis Shorty (2020 AIP Finalist), Muskox by From Scrap to Art (2018 AIP Laureate), Toboggan by Dennis Shorty (2020 AIP Finalist)

For the AIP Finalists and Laureates, they didn’t stop after the awards ceremony was over!

The Laureates and Finalists honoured at the Awards Ceremony were invited by the Hon. Anthony Rota, Speaker of the House, to be recognized in the House of Commons and attend a reception on Parliament Hill. Winners also received congratulatory letters from the Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau.

“I draw the attention of hon. members to the presence in the gallery of finalists and winners of the 2022 Arctic Inspiration Prize. The finalists and winners from across Canada’s Arctic are recognized for their innovative projects to improve the quality of life in their communities.”

The Hon. Anthony Rota, Speaker of the House (February 9, 2023 House of Commons Debates)
Congratulations to all of the 2022 Laureates! (Justin Tang/AIP)

Start your nomination today and you could become one of this year’s Laureates!

The 2023 Call for Nominations is open now!