Watch a recording of the 11th Annual Arctic Inspiration Prize Awards Ceremony, held on February 8, 2023, here.

Arctic Inspiration Prize Awards Ceremony

Every year the AIP invites its community, as well as individuals from across the country, to join together in celebration of the current year’s Finalists and new winning Laureates. The live Awards Ceremony is hosted in partnership with a variety of different organizations and in collaboration with a different host city each year (typically alternating between North and South).

In addition to celebrating the nominated and winning projects, the awards ceremony is a cultural showcase, including musical performances from artists from across the North. Each winning team also receives an original piece of artwork from a Northern Canadian artist.

The guitar-fiddle duo of Yukoners Boyd Benjamin and Kevin Barr perform at the 2019 AIP Awards Ceremony in Ottawa (credit: Justin Tang/AIP)

11th Annual Awards Ceremony

Celebrating 11 years of by the North for the North impact.

Join us on February 8, 2023, for the 11th Annual Arctic Inspiration Prize ceremony, a live and in-person event celebrating the incredible AIP Finalists and Laureates at the Shaw Centre in Ottawa. The ceremony will be hosted by Andrea Brazeau and Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory and will feature performances by Vision Quest, Beatrice Deer, and Terry Uyarak under the masterful artistic direction of Leela Gilday. 

This year’s theme, “Walking lightly on the earth and leaving our mark on each other,” reflects the vital relationship that northerners have with the land, water and community. In the North, many traditional ways of knowing and being are based on teaching and learning from the land. The AIP has always celebrated community relationships and activities above physical infrastructure, acknowledging the powerful connection that northerners have to the land. 

Come and kick off the fun with the AIP ceremony followed by the Meet and Greet. Doors open at 5:00 PM. Don’t miss this opportunity to celebrate the achievements and contributions of northern communities and leave your mark on one another. We hope to see you there! 

More information here.

Buy your tickets here.

* To buy tickets for the AIP ceremony scroll down to “Additional Tickets” section and choose the second row “Meet & Greet / AIP Awards Ceremony”. 

Watch last year’s ceremony below: