2019 Awards Ceremony

The 8th Annual Arctic Inspiration Prize Awards Ceremony was a tremendous celebration of northern excellence and achievement. Held on February 5 at the Shaw Centre in Ottawa in conjunction with the Northern Lights Business and Cultural Showcase, eight teams from across Canada’s North were awarded a share of over $2.6 million to implement impactful and innovative projects that will improve the lives of people in their communities.

The AIP was thrilled to welcome Christine Genier, host of CBC Yukon, and Nunavut’s Thomas Anguti Johnston, as hosts, and the NWT’s Juno award winner Leela Gilday, as artistic director.

The ceremony featured wonderful performances by: Deantha Edmunds, Inuk classical soloist; the guitar-fiddle duo of Yukoners Boyd Benjamin and Kevin Barr; Nunavik’s Sylvia Cloutier; Dene Orator Lawrence Nayally; and Arctic Soul icons Josh Q and The Trade-Offs.

Elder Aigah Attagutsiak and Elder Claudette Commanda opened the ceremony and Natan Obed, National Inuit Leader and President of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami made a special appearance. The AIP was also thrilled to welcome on stage, Yukon Premier Sandy Silver and Nunavut Premier Joe Savikataaq who presented awards to this year’s Laureates.