The 2019 Arctic Inspiration Prize call for nominations is now open

April 11, 2019

Up to $3 million to be awarded across three prize categories

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2019 Arctic Inspiration Prize (AIP). In 2019, the AIP will award up to $3 million which will be shared by up to 10 winning teams in three prize categories. One $1 million prize will be awarded to one exceptional team, up to four teams will be awarded up to $500,000 each, and up to seven teams with members 30 years of age or younger will be awarded up to $100,000 each. The Youth prize category seeks to inspire the next generations of Arctic innovators to develop projects and plans that address issues and opportunities relevant to them. Nominations will be accepted until October 15, 2019.

“We are very excited to launch this year’s call for nominations,” said Lucy Kuptana, Chair of the Arctic Inspiration Prize Charitable Trust. “Northerners are exceptionally creative, resourceful, and innovative. I am certain that the nominations received this year from across the North will be for initiatives that are truly impactful. We were able to award more than $2.5 million to five remarkable projects last year, and we look forward to supporting some exciting new initiatives in 2019.”

Potential projects can address any opportunities or challenges that are of importance to the Canadian Arctic and its peoples. A project can have one or more focus areas such as, but not limited to, education, training, health and wellness, environment and climate change, recreation, tourism, culture and economic development.

Last year, a total prize award of over $2.5 million was shared among five teams for their innovative plans to inspire change and improve the lives of people living in Canada’s North. Pirurvik: A Place to Grow, an innovative and comprehensive early childhood education program rooted in traditional child-rearing practices that aims to change the lives of children throughout Nunavut, received the top award of $1 million. In addition, three prizes were awarded in the AIP category that awards up to $500,000; and one team received funds for their project in the Youth category that awards up to $100,000.

For the 2019 prize, teams can submit an optional Letter of Intent to receive feedback on their project’s eligibility for the prize. The submission deadline for the Letter of Intent is September 9, 2019.

More information about the AIP, past Laureates, and the nomination process is available on the AIP website.

About the Arctic Inspiration Prize

As the largest annual prize in Canada with a focus on the Arctic, the Arctic Inspiration Prize (AIP) encourages, enables and celebrates the inspiring achievements of the people of the North. The AIP recognizes diverse teams and enables their innovative projects in the fields of education, sustainable housing, health, performing arts, traditional knowledge, language, and science. Each year, the AIP awards up to $3 million: one $1 million prize, up to four prizes of up to $500,000 each, and up to seven youth prizes of up to $100,000 each.

The AIP is owned and governed by the northern-led AIP Charitable Trust and supported by Indigenous organizations, governments, industry, philanthropy, and many other partners from the North and South, with management support provided by the Rideau Hall Foundation.

For more information:
Arctic Inspiration Prize
[email protected]