Arctic Inspiration Prize Announces Line-up for 10th Anniversary Awards Ceremony

January 20, 2022

Artists from across the North join in celebrating this year’s AIP finalists and laureates

Every year, the Arctic Inspiration Prize celebrates its new laureates at an awards ceremony that showcases the AIP finalists, winners and performances by artists from across the North. This year’s ceremony will also celebrate the AIP’s 10th anniversary and will feature past laureates throughout the show.

This year’s ceremony will be hosted by northern artists and performers Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory and William Greenland. “We are delighted that Laakkuluk and William will be hosting this year’s show,” said Wally Schumann, Chair of the Arctic Inspiration Prize Charitable Trust. “Both are creative forces unto themselves and represent past winning AIP teams.”

With Leela Gilday once again taking the lead as artistic director, the virtual AIP awards ceremony promises to be an ambitious, pan-Arctic celebration that will feature three incredible performances from northern artists:

“I am delighted to be celebrating the past 10 years of creativity and innovation alongside the AIP community. This year’s ceremony is all about imagination and making our biggest dreams come true. And, it seems especially fitting for this 10th anniversary ceremony that each of the performances feature past AIP laureates or finalists,” said Leela Gilday, AIP artistic director.

Finally, each winning team will receive a piece of original artwork that helps to represent the themes of the laureate teams. Each of this year’s pieces were created by a past AIP laureate or finalist, helping to connect the past 10 years of impact with the work that is about to come to life.

Stay tuned for more exciting news on how to watch this year’s ceremony, which will air on March 4.

About the AIP

As the largest annual prize in Canada, the Arctic Inspiration Prize (AIP) inspires, enables and celebrates the achievements of the people of the North. The AIP recognizes diverse teams and enables their innovative projects in the fields of education, sustainable housing, health, performing arts, traditional knowledge, language, and science. Each year, the AIP awards: one $1 million prize, up to four prizes of up to $500,000 each, and up to seven youth prizes of up to $100,000 each. The AIP is owned and governed by the northern-led AIP Charitable Trust and is a community of Indigenous organizations, governments, industry, philanthropy, and many other partners from the North and South.

For further information, please contact:

Allison MacLachlan
(613) 316-3473
[email protected]

Twitter: @ArcticPrize
Facebook: /ArcticPrize
Instagram: @ArcticInspirationPrize