Regional Selection Committees

The Regional Selection Committees of the Arctic Inspiration Prize review nominations submitted from their region and make recommendations to the National Selection Committee. In addition to representing their region, members are Northerners who represent diverse sectors and communities.

2019 Members

(Alphabetical order)

Regional Selection Committee for Yukon

Mathieya Alatini
Former Chief, Kluane First Nation
Representing the National Selection Committee

Jacqueline Bedard
Executive Director, External and Government Relations, Yukon College
Representing Education

Jay Massie
Manager, ATCO
Representing Business

Beverly Sembsmoen
AIP Laureate, The Peacemaking Circle
Representing Laureates

Courtney Wheelton
Events and Marketing Manager, Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre
Representing Youth

Regional Selection Committee for the Northwest Territories

Darrell Beaulieu
President and CEO, Denendeh Development Corporation
Representing Business

Leela Gilday
Singer, Songwriter and Producer
Representing the National Selection Committee

Donald Prince
Executive Director, Arctic Indigenous Wellness Foundation & AIP Laureate, Arctic Indigenous Wellness Project
Representing Laureates

Glen Abernethy
Former Minister and MLA for the Government of the NWT

Sabrina Broadhead
Director, Indigenous Health and Community Wellness Division, Government of the NWT

Regional Selection Committee for Inuit Nunangat

Alicia Aragutak
Executive Manager, Isuarsivik
Representing Youth

Nellie Cournoyea
Former Chair, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation & Former Premier of the Northwest Territories
Representing the National Selection Committee

Rod Hick
President and CEO, Atuqtuarvik Corporation
Representing Business

Peesee Pitsiulak
Former Dean of Nunatta Campus, Nunavut Arctic College
Representing Education

Kristy Sheppard
Director of Economic Development, Nunatsiavut Government & Laureate, Sakkijânginnatuk Nunalik: Healthy Homes in Thriving Nunatsiavut Communities
Representing Laureates

Former Regional Selection Committee Members

Ron Daub
Chief Executive Officer, Vuntut Gwitchin Limited Partnership
RSC for Yukon - Representing Business

Caroline Sparks
Consultant, C. Sparks Consulting & Laureate, Tri-Territorial Recreation Training Project (Recreation North)
RSC for Yukon - Representing Laureates

Steven Nitah
Negotiator, Lutsel K’e Dene First Nation & Laureate, Thaidene Nene Initiative
RSC for NWT - Representing Laureates